Kilgetty Golf Society
Kilgetty Golf Society

2018 Annual Awards

Mike triumphs at the Kilgetty Golf Society Annual Awards


Last week Kilgetty Golf Society held its Annual Awards Ceremony at Trefloyne Golf Club. The “Race to Trefloyne”, as it has been known for several years now, commenced at Cardigan last February and in subsequent months our travels took us to Pennard, Carmarthen, Derllys Court, Maesteg, Neath, Cradoc, Glyn Abbey, Bransford (nr. Worcester), Milford, and Ashburnham.  An interesting, picturesque, and sometimes tough collection of parkland and links courses, some of which were totally new to us.

For those who had played 6 or more of these courses there were a number of awards and individual mementos.  The overall champion with a superb aggregate of 209 points over his best 6 rounds (an average of 34.8) was Mike Slippery Skidmore with his best score of 42 reserved for Cradoc GC. Well done Mike. Good luck for the 2019 Race but there’ll be many chasing you, such as second placed Perry Bonzo Phillips only 2 points, or two 6 inch putts, behind on 207! Third placed John Magneto Richards had 205 points whilst in joint 4th place were Bob Dixie Forrest and Allan Snuff Gawith, the latter slipping into the top prizes on the last round at Ashburnham, leaving quite a few others in his wake.

Others awards were as follows:

Longest Drive Gorilla – Rob The Builder Nixon who won the prize twice and was always in contention.

Nearest the Pin King – was uncrowned as we couldn’t separate the 10 different winners

20+ Handicap Bandit – the bandit this year was Martin Dangler Davies despite his moans and groans about his back!

Wooden Spoon – a fairly even spread this year with 7 different winners but John Pashmina Perrott won it with a certain panache!

Most Improved Player of the Year – a close run thing but it went to the aforementioned Perry Bonzo Phillips who’s quality of play has improved vastly over the year and looks set to continue in that vein.

Full results of the Race can be viewed below. Good luck for 2019!

Overall, 59 golfers played at some point over the year, a welcome increase over previous years and demonstrating the vitality of the Society at a time when golf generally is suffering in club memberships. Apart from golfers who are not members of any club, we had representatives from the following golf clubs -Haverfordwest, Newport Links, Trefloyne, Tenby, South Pembs, St.Davids, Rosemarket, Heron’s Brook, and Neath.  New members are always welcome and we now send notifications of fixtures out to over 130 people. New and previous members are always welcome to join us at any time and remember – there is no annual membership fee, just pay a reasonable charge for the day’s outing. 


2018   Annual Race to Trefloyne - Final Scores
  1st 209   Skidmore Mike
  2nd 207   Phillips Perry
  3rd 205   Richards John
  4th= 201   Forrest Bob
  4th= 201   Gawith Allan
  6th 200   Jones Steve
  7th 199   Braithwaite Joel
  8th 198   Hammond John
  9th 195   Longster Graham
  10th 194   Nixon Rob
  11th 186   Evans Meurig
  12th 183   Neale Barry
  13th 182   Green Dave
  14th 177   Richards Wynne
  15th 177   Handcock Roger
  16th 174   Davies Martin
  17th 172   Connett Wayne
  18th 168   Rice  Peter
  19th 164   Zeraschi Jack
  20th 129   Leverton Keith
  21st 125   Boughey Kelvin
  22nd 125   Bond Graham
  23rd 114   Marsden Paul
  24th 109   Jones Derek
  25th 109   Voysey John
  26th 106   Perrott John
  27th 103   Gregson Ian
  28th 100   Williams John
  29th 84   Jones Darrell
  30th 81   Dyer Kevin
  31st 74   Whiting Ian
  32nd 72   Miller Brian
  33rd 71   Sayers Alan
  34th 63   James John
  35th 61   Woods Tom
  36th 60   Millett Simon
  37th 58   Hunter Glenn
  38th 50   Ryan Anthony
  39th 50   Taylor Nigel
  40th 49   Foley Richard
  41st 44   Alman Adrian
  42nd 40   Risley Ben
  43rd 38   Absolom Paul
  44th 37   Richards Jane
  45th 34   Wood Barry
  46th 32   Arthur Finnan
  47th 31   Arthur Simon
  48th 31   Davies  Neil
  49th 31   Drury John
  50th 31   Wood Simon
  51st 29   Whale Mick
  52nd 22   Prager Mike
  53rd 21   Davies  Ashley
  54th 21   Hughes Peter
  55th 20   Davies Simon
  56th 20   Warham Graham
  57th 20   Viner John
  58th 19   Watson Graham
  59th 13   Sweet Simon

News & Fixtures


Polos, Sweatshirts, Sleeveless Sweaters, Caps and Beanies embroidered with "Kilgetty Golf Society" and in a variety of colours and materials are now available to order at a very reasonable price. Please contact Steve Jones by emailing for more information.


Print | Sitemap
© John Hargrave